PDA

View Full Version : lighting

czdaryle
12/26/2006, 08:09 AM
Just started a saltwater tank 2 mths ago. I have had freshwater for over 20 years. I currently have a 55 gallon as a saltwater with live rock and fish. We just bought an anomene and I was wondering what I have to do to upgrade the lighting for the least amount of money. Right now we have the 50/50 coral life 2 18 watt bulbs. Is there anything where I can keep the hood and just replace the light fixture or anything. I'm not interested in coral and want the cheapest solution because I have a feeling I might go to a 125 eventually. Thanks for you help

casingbill
12/26/2006, 08:14 AM
I'm no expert, but from what I understand, that is not even close to enough light for that anemome. I would think you would really need something at least close to metal halide.

kau_cinta_ku
12/26/2006, 08:15 AM
[welcome]
you may want the cheapest solution but you picked an animal that needs alot of light to survive so i don't know what to tell you about a cheap way to do it except check out a retrofit kit either T5HO's or MH and that way you can always use them on the bigger tank also.

sir_dudeguy
well if you already have an anemone and need a light to grow that, you will certainly be able to grow most any corals along with it, since anemone's need good strong light. I'd say go to hellolights.com and look at their MH retrofits and look for at least a 2x175 watts, but 2x250 watts would be much better in my opinion. Or you could look at their T5 HO lights. Look for a retrofit that is at least a 4x39 watt fixture, but preferably 6 bulbs.

Dont mean to be discouraging or anything here, but dont be shocked if that anemone dies. For the most part they do not do well in new tanks. Especially if they havent got any light (which yours does not right now) or food (and i dont know if you're feeding yours or not).

hope this helps and....

[welcome]

t5Nitro