PDA

View Full Version : sump and lighting questions

C-Dog
12/27/2006, 08:50 PM
hey guys i'm new at this.... my 10g sw tank has been running for about 2.5 months now and i want to build a refugium for it so i can keep my nitrates down and to hide my heater. It will be my first sump which i wanna make out of a 3gal bucket, surface skimmer which attaches to an aquaclear and some powerheads. I would like to know what i need to put in it like compartments or do i just set up a mini tank with macro algea stuff.....

another question is i just went and bout aqualight double linear strip lighting for my tank which has 36 watts.... uhm it seems to get realy realy hot so i was wondering if that was normal??

there 2-18 watt straight pin compact flurescents......

is it normal to get soo hot?

alizarin
12/27/2006, 09:12 PM
First a question - how are you planning on getting the water from the tank to the sump/refugium/bucket? Do you have an overflow?

You can make a refugium out of a bucket without compartments (baffles) but the reason to add them would be that the macro algae will want to get sucked into the pump and bubbles will enter from the pipe from the tank. If you have a screen or sponge on the pump/powerhead then it's doable - I've run setups light that where you just have a maxijet powerhead connected to a vinyl tube. The screen on the maxijet is enough to keep flow but not suck in macro. Are you going to use cheato for the macro algae?

Another thought is just to use the aquaclear as a small refugium... that's somewhat common to do for nanos (I've got one that way on my 10g).

Hot lights - compact flourescents get somewhat hot. My 96w aqualight fixture gets hot but not so much that I can't hold my hand to it. Does the unit have a fan and is it working?

C-Dog
12/27/2006, 10:13 PM