PDA

View Full Version : Sump for 120g


ReefWreak
12/28/2006, 10:38 PM
I'm looking to put a new sump under my 120g 48x24x24. Under the tank, because of the way the two front cabinet doors open, I can fit in a 30x20 footprint for a sump and/or tank maximum size.

I'm thinking about either going with an ADHI 30 http://www.championlighting.com/product.php?productid=22061&cat=700&page=1
or just going with a 37g tank 30x12x22 from AGA and baffling it myself. My skimmer can be fit into a space of 9x11 or so with my Mag9.5 pump, so room shouldn't be too much of an issue for the skimmer space.

I'm more doing this to open up to a large refugium for macroalgae growth (to fight against those darned phosphates [.5ppm] which arn't being removed by my 2 phosban reactors). I'm also thinking of going from my external loud and hot running LG 350gph pump to maybe an internal ehiem. I also need the extra space for there to be decent sized water reservoir so my parents don't have to add water every day since I'm up at school.

Suggestions for sump considerations and critiques of my ideas are welcome and appreciated!

raddogz
12/28/2006, 11:18 PM
I use a fifty gallon tank 36x15x18 or so as my sump. It holds my ER 8-2 skimmer and holds about twenty five gallons or so of water. I lose about two gallons of water a day.

I use a quiet one 4000 as my return pump.

ReefWreak
12/28/2006, 11:30 PM
I would love to put a 50g under my tank, but I used cardboard today to figure the largest size I could fit through the front opening of my cabinet stand, and the longest I could get through there was 30" x 18". Any suggestions of how to get a larger tank in there without lifting the upper tank (150lbs + oh... maybe 1.5 tons of rock, sand, and water... not to mention no temporary storage locations for rock, sand, and water, no less...).

I remember maybe Melev cutting a hole in the side of the stand to get the tank in lengthwise? I'm just terrified for the structural integrity of my stand as it is (I bought it used, and it had a salt leak for at least 3 years, with one side of the main support being pretty badly salted, if that makes a difference in the structural integrity..)

I appreciate the input though!

xenon
12/29/2006, 01:07 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=8847185#post8847185 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by raddogz
I use a fifty gallon tank 36x15x18 or so as my sump. It holds my ER 8-2 skimmer and holds about twenty five gallons or so of water. I lose about two gallons of water a day.

I use a quiet one 4000 as my return pump.

The dimmentions of your sump is not 50g. Its actually the same size as a 40g breeder tank.

I use a 40g breeder as my sump also and its working out PERFECTLY.

The skimmer section is 10" Wide x 18" Deep x 10" High.
The pump return section is 9" Wide x 18" Deep x 10" High.
The refugium is 12" Wide x 18" Deep x 14" High.

The bubble trap baffles are 1.5" apart and the middle baffle is 1.5" higher.

http://www.dansouliere.com/pictures/newsump.jpg

raddogz
12/29/2006, 10:13 AM
Actually it is a 50g tank I couldn't recall the exact dimensions.

I have a diy stand which has a removable center column i(2x4 in the front. I built my stand with having a fifty gallon tank as a sump.

I am sure you could get away with a sump that has the dimensions of 30 x 20. Have you considered making your own sump?

xenon
12/29/2006, 02:19 PM
There is no better way than building your own when you need such specific dimmentions.

vin
12/29/2006, 09:43 PM
I use a 30gl. breeder for my 120 with plenty of room left over for my calcium reactor.

reef / aholic
01/03/2007, 10:01 PM
www.lifereef.com/custom.html "Q" Two-piece setup!!!

ReefWreak
01/03/2007, 10:09 PM
55" long x 13" x 18"

That's a great sump, however:

A. It doesn't fit into my stand
B. I'm sure it costs an arm and a leg.

Thanks for the ideas though :)