PDA

View Full Version : Need plumbing help

nirrad
12/30/2006, 05:04 PM
I have a 120 gal AGA Reef Ready, the dimensions are 48x24x24, It has 2 overflows on the back wall. I am trying to plumb a custom built acrylic sump. I am a complete noob at plumbing. I thought I got all the parts I needed, but it looks like I missed a Union connection. My question is this. My tank came with bulkheads for the overflow and return. How do I hook them up to the pvc?. Thanks for all your help and input.

Please, I need lots of advice as this is my first plumbing experience.

nirrad
12/30/2006, 05:16 PM
Here is a few pictures of the proposed tank.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d106/nirrad487/DSC00428.jpg

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d106/nirrad487/DSC00427.jpg

The drain is 1" and the return lines are 3/4". I have all the materials I need exept the know-how to put it all together.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

pjf
12/30/2006, 06:08 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=8857648#post8857648 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by nirrad
My question is this. My tank came with bulkheads for the overflow and return. How do I hook them up to the pvc?. Thanks for all your help and input.

Please, I need lots of advice as this is my first plumbing experience.
I have a 75g Oceanic Reef Ready. The bulkheads are installed with the threaded rings on the bottom.

Normally, flexible FDA-grade (potable water) vinyl tubing is used instead of PVC to connect to the bulkheads. The flexible tubing does not restrict the flow as much as rigid pipes with their angled corners. Vinyl tubing is clamped in place and can be removed. PVC pipes are glued in place and must be cut with a saw if modifications are necessary. The flexible vinyl tubing is attached to the bulkheads with PVC connectors or fittings.