PDA

View Full Version : cleaning probes


emory
01/06/2007, 05:15 PM
pH not H

RobbyG
01/07/2007, 11:32 AM
??? H
for pH use make a mix of 10 parts TAP water to 1 part Vinegar and soak for 30 minutes. They also sell probe cleaning solutions that do work slightly better than vinegar.

BTW Do not put the probe in Ro water.

ppht
01/22/2007, 01:46 PM
How would you clean ORP and Conductivity? Same as PH?

RobbyG
01/22/2007, 06:46 PM
I have cleaned both ORP and Conductivity the same way but I do find that the commercial cleaners do work better. All these cleaners are just gently stripping off any organics that have grown on the probes.

ppht
01/22/2007, 10:20 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=8918435#post8918435 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by RobbyG
??? H
for pH use make a mix of 10 parts TAP water to 1 part Vinegar and soak for 30 minutes. They also sell probe cleaning solutions that do work slightly better than vinegar.

BTW Do not put the probe in Ro water.
What happens when you put it in RO/DI water? Which I think I did...

ik2vov
01/23/2007, 05:46 AM
RO water corrups the pH probe, with long contact time pH probes dont' work any more.
I don't know exactly how it happends, I'll ask.

Bye

ppht
01/23/2007, 06:03 AM
How about ORP and Salinity probes? Those are the ones I think I washed in RO/DI

RobbyG
01/23/2007, 11:55 AM
ORP and Salinity probes can be cleaned with RO with no problems.
From old posts I have read, it appears that the pH is effected because the Ro water can penetrate the Glass and mess with the Liquid inside the probe.

ik2vov
01/23/2007, 12:45 PM
Not Robert,
Salinity can be cleaned with RO water, ORP probe not. ORP probe works the same way as pH probe so it's not to clean with RO as pH.

I'm waiting the exact reason from Aquatronica Engineers so to write the exact answer.

Bye

ppht
01/23/2007, 12:52 PM
Would that mean My ORP can be bad now? I guess I would need a test solution to know for sure...

ik2vov
01/23/2007, 01:14 PM
pphp,
to damage a probe you have to leave it in RO for some time, if you just cleaned it with some RO, I think it has not been damaged, but it's better not to do it.

Bye

ppht
01/23/2007, 01:35 PM
OK Thanks... Maybe just due for a cleaning..

Psyire
01/23/2007, 05:02 PM
This is good to know... should be on a little peice of paper included with every pH probe. (or in every manual)

RobbyG
01/23/2007, 06:18 PM
Interesting, I did not know that the ORP was damaged by Ro.
Thanks IK2vov


<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=9053818#post9053818 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by ik2vov
Not Robert,
Salinity can be cleaned with RO water, ORP probe not. ORP probe works the same way as pH probe so it's not to clean with RO as pH.

I'm waiting the exact reason from Aquatronica Engineers so to write the exact answer.

Bye

ppht
01/27/2007, 09:14 AM
Question on Calibration. On the menu I set for Conductivity Calibration. But the reference is unchangable... Is there something wrong with my module? I scroll up and down and cant move it at all.... Do you think something is defective? Is there a reset of some sort?