PDA

View Full Version : Is it OK to buy fish from multiple stores?

FLReefGirl
01/07/2007, 05:01 PM
Hi everyone. I am a newbie (5 weeks) and I want to say this site has been very helpful. Thanks!

Anyway... I was wondering if it's ok to buy fish, coral, etc. from multiple stores?
I can only seem to find 2 LFS in my area (besides PetCo.). The one I have been working with is wonderful and very informative but the inventory goes fast. The other store is larger, has more inventory, but is less personal. I don't know if I'd get the help I would need as a newbie there. I like the personalized attention from the one place. I have bought 51 lbs of LR, 7 fish, & hermit crabs from the store I like and so far I have had great success. I'm afraid if I mix animals and water from a new store I will be asking for trouble. Please advise.
Thanks.

zoomfish1
01/07/2007, 05:08 PM
Dosen't matter where you buy fish. But when you add them to the tank DO NOT include any of the store's waer to your tank water, After you acclimate the fish, throw the acclimation water away.

nyvp
01/07/2007, 05:09 PM
yes you can buy from as many stores as you would like. You can also learn from here on RC and then go buy from whomever you'd like.

salty3
01/07/2007, 05:10 PM
When you add fish dont let the water mix into your tank, always throw it out. I buy from severale stores but try to do most of my buisness with one store in preticulare just because they help me more and very friendly.

Melody
01/07/2007, 05:25 PM
NO, please don't mix lfs water to your own tank.:eek2:

Not a problem buying from multiple stores. Just be sure to quarantine fish, rock and coral before adding to display.

And "Welcome to RC"!!!!!!!

:)

Sk8r
01/07/2007, 05:33 PM