PDA

View Full Version : Throw some crap @ me.....

beelzebob
01/09/2007, 01:19 PM
I have come seeking information...

being a newb, i have not yet attempted to keep any LPS. only softies, polyps, mushies, zoas etc.

but i sure would like to add a lil lps in the upcomming months.

my tank is small, id guess you could call it a nano at 18 gal. but i was looking for you LPS experts out there to throw some ideas my way as to what LPS would be good for a begginer.

my lighting is a 96W Coarlife PC, 10,000k daylight,and 10,000k acknic.

i have some intresets, so be ready to shoot me down.

chalice? really like that stuff.
and open brain?
plate corals?
acans?
candy canes?
blastomussa?

whats good cool and easy?
what should i avoid?

pink_floyd
01/09/2007, 01:40 PM
I believe blastos are very nice and easy to take care of.. as well as candy canes and plate corals...

"Umm, fish?"
01/09/2007, 03:18 PM
Blastos seem to hate my system, so I avoid them now. Acans seem easy to me (feed them well). Hammer corals seem easy. They get big, though. Open brains should be easy, but you have to keep up on feeding. Plate corals should be easy, but mine died of some weird infection.

WendyMc
01/09/2007, 03:23 PM
Want some crap? Heck, I'm full of it
:D . Seriously, though, you have listed some corals which can thrive in a tank that size with that lighting (I have that same exact light on my 12g). None of them can be touched by any of your soft corals, though, so make sure if you try them to give them plenty of clearance from where your softies could reach at their biggest & fullest expansion.