PDA

View Full Version : question about lighting

The Chefin' Man
01/12/2007, 04:00 PM
Hello everyone!

I am new to this page I have been on reefs.org for a few months now. I fugured I would try this one out too. I have a questino about my lighting. I have a Tek light T5 4 bulb system. I do have to apologize I do not remember what the actual size was on them but there are 2 actinic and 2 true white I do believe. My question is about I know that there has been a lot of debate over this but I have a Crocea and a Carnation coral that I got for free from the lfs because my water system was down and they gave me water that was a 1.037 and not at 1.024 like I had asked therefore I lost a two of my corals and clams. Will they put off enough eluminens for these items to survive I also have a green bubble coral.

Thank you,
The chef

papagimp
01/12/2007, 04:58 PM
depends on the wattage they are. I have a 6 x 54 watt teklight fixture, and when I was only runnin 4 of the bulbs (a 48" fixture) I purchased my first crocea. It did very well and since I have added the extra 2 bulbs to fill my fixture, it's still going strong. I'm not sure if a smaller sized fixture (less than 54watt bulbs) would be enough light intensity for a clam.

As for the green bubble coral, Mine really hates too much light from my tek fixture, I have him partially shaded or he shrivels up. Before the T5's I kept him under 260watts Power compact fixture and he did remarkably well.

nycbrose
01/12/2007, 05:08 PM
Carnation coral does not require strong lighting. They are non-photosynthetic. In fact, too much lighting will cause them to shrivel. The bubble coral, on the other hand, contains symbiotic algae that must need light to convert food into energy, and should be placed in the mid sections of your aquarium.

papagimp
01/12/2007, 05:11 PM