PDA

View Full Version : kalkstirer to run at night

Deano 1971
01/14/2007, 02:02 AM
Please forgive me if my wish is possible, but i am new to this and pulling my hair out trying.

I would like to be able to dose my kalkstirer at night so my ph is kept more constant. The only way i can see that this is possible at the moment is to use two solinoid valves on my ro unit (1 on a timer to open from 00.00 - 08.00 and another in the same line that will open when my level sensor drops to Level 1. )

It would be better if the timer could over-ride the level sensor and save the need for 2 valves to do the job. Spending more money on an extra solinoid valve seems crazy to me after speding £400 on a computer to do the task.

Anyone been able to find a solution to this problem?

Hobby Experience: 3 years marine

RobbyG
01/14/2007, 10:24 AM
To do this properly you need two solenoid valves a level sensor and a Kent Float valve.

The KalK goes into one solenoid then into a Y connector and then from the output of the Y into the Kent float valve

RO water goes from the other solenoid then into the other Leg of the Y connector.

The level Sensor goes into the sump to detect when the water level has dropped enough to turn ON the solenoids and also when to turn them OFF.

So now you can send either Ro or Kalk to the sump depending on your pH level. The Kent Valve will work as a backup in case any of the solenoids get stuck ON.

If you have this all setup you can now use an XY program like the one below to control what solenoid will open and when.

Max Time = 120 Seconds
Variable1 = Sump Level = Low
Delay = 5 seconds

Variable2 = SO5 pH > 8.1
Reference = Yes
Buffer = 0

Action 1
UP01 - PSW1
Plug G RO Water
ON

______

PROGRAM 2

Max Time = 150 Seconds
Variable1 = Sump Level = Low
Delay = 5 seconds

Variable2 = pH < 8.1
Reference = Yes
Buffer = 0

Action 1
UP01 - PSW1
Plug H - Kalk Water
ON

You can change the pH value from 8.1 to whatever you want as your reference pH.