PDA

View Full Version : Wavemaker Help Please


Random Aquarist
01/14/2007, 03:56 PM
My tank is 48"L x 16"W x 26"T. I'll have a BTA and a pair of maroon clowns in it. I will have approx. 100 lbs of LR. What small powerheads would you recommend to make a wavemaking system?

Random Aquarist
01/14/2007, 06:56 PM
bump

I'm going to make my equipment orders tomorrow or Tuesday. I really need help FAST.

Random Aquarist
01/14/2007, 10:03 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=8982333#post8982333 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Random Aquarist
bump

I'm going to make my equipment orders tomorrow or Tuesday. I really need help FAST.

Fishbulb2
01/14/2007, 10:32 PM
Maxi jets are typically a good option. Dr foster and smith are having a sale on them with a natural wavemaker. There are really just too many options available for us to just give you one. Tell us more about your budget for this. Really, you can get away with about $40 worth of powerheads or about $700 for vortech pumps or tunzes on multicontrollers. Your options are really limitless. I assume you want something in between but it's just such a large range.

In general, the more specific the question, the more specific the answer.

FB

SALTWATERSIG
01/14/2007, 10:48 PM
i suppose it varies ....depending on your set up. bare bottom, sand bottom, going softies or sps. i also started with maxijets 1200's with a wave maker , it worked great at the time with mostly softies & lps. as i started getting into starter sps (monti caps) i noticed i needed more flow so i now have 2 seio 1500's and 1 tunze 6060 running all the time. i got improved results on caps with increased flow but had to move so lps so that they would'nt get blow away. also thought about using seios with their controler but it only powers up and down both pumps at same time. not much of wave making like i previously had so i just run them all the time. i have sand bottom with appx 100lbs lr and the increased flow blew sand for about a day and then settled down.

Random Aquarist
01/15/2007, 08:14 AM
I think I'll pile my LR so it creates a slope, like in this picture:
http://www.tunze.com/typo3temp/pics/291bd6ecef.jpg

And I'll point a Turbelle Stream 6000 at it. I've been trying to achieve this slope formation anyway. Will this work?

Random Aquarist
01/15/2007, 09:57 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=8985591#post8985591 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Random Aquarist
Will this work?

Random Aquarist
01/15/2007, 11:48 AM
bump

Random Aquarist
01/15/2007, 01:28 PM
bump