PDA

View Full Version : Clam Lighting

MACC
01/15/2007, 02:07 PM
Im new to all of this and dont know anything, so thanks for your patience...I got an oceanic biocube (29 ga.) for Christmas and I want to get some clams (pref. the max.). Is this tank able to sustain this?? It has 2 power compact fluorescent lamps, 10,000 K and Actinic Lunar Blue(lamps are 2x36 dual power compacts???) , Moon Glow LED lights Thanks for your help...MACC

jmaneyapanda
01/15/2007, 02:22 PM
Unfortunately, my vote is no. The lighting is not adequate.

MACC
01/15/2007, 02:27 PM
any way to modify this thing???

jmaneyapanda
01/15/2007, 02:38 PM
Im not sure of the design, but think it has a built in hood. Most lights that are pwoerful enough generate a lot of heat, which would be bad in this situation. You might want to look into t%, but I not sure if it's feasible.

Peabody
01/15/2007, 03:52 PM
Unfortunately other than scraping the top altogether, you're probably out of luck. Those lights wouldn't sustain the lowest light Tridacnid. For a maxima, you'd likely want a 150w Metal Halide bulb at least. Sorry!

kitestir9
01/17/2007, 10:47 PM
There are a couple of places that offer retrofits for this hood. Right now there is a kit that can be added to bring it up to 144watts.

It adds 2 more 36 watt bulbs in the existing hood. You can search around for them or drop me a pm and I can try and find them for you.

JamesJR
01/18/2007, 10:03 PM
I have been in the hobby for a long time and I have worked in the retail end for a few years too. I wouldn't try to keep clams in this tank. I hate to rain on your parade but I would hate for you to lose clams and bang your head against the wall to find out what I have concluded.