PDA

View Full Version : lighting Advice for newbie

smacdone
01/21/2007, 10:14 PM
Okay, So I am new to this and am looking to get a nice lighting set up for my 50 Gal Tank. Its 36" long. I want to be able to grow some coral, and am just curious what lighting to go with. I have seen combo kits with a metal halide like This (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120077145109&sspagename=ADME:L:RTQ:US:1)

Or i can go with something like This (http://cgi.ebay.com/36-POWER-COMPACT-4-X-96-Aquarium-LIGHT-New-w-lunar_W0QQitemZ250074302828QQihZ015QQcategoryZ3212QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

Or any other suggestions of what to get that would be appreciated!

TXStateUnivReef
01/21/2007, 10:47 PM
well i would try www.aquatraders.com they are good lights i have a mh pc combo from there and a 260w pc from there as well no problems and they are cheap i would go w/ pc less heat and take your glass tops off more light in... if your tank is really deep then go with metalhalide

ReefWreak
01/21/2007, 10:51 PM
You should really specify a price range. $300 for PC is crazy though. If you are willing to build a hood, I know you can find a much better deal on even a used 2x250w halide setup! There is a guy in our local club (FMAS) who just sold a setup like that for $150.

Just keep watch of the use equipment forums, or retrofit a setup on your own. It'll save a TON of $$$

blureef1
01/21/2007, 10:52 PM
I have a 36" 50 gal. I went with a PFO mini with just a single 250w de bulb. If I were to do it over I would definetely get a fixture with either t5s, vho's or pc's to supplement the mh. Gives you a little more versatility as far as the look of the light. (If 10k mh is too white/yellow, you can get some blue from the other bulbs etc)

As it is, I have enough light for pretty much any coral, but I need to stick with higher PAR lights, like the 10k's rather than 14k or 20k.