PDA

View Full Version : Monti and Mille Help

TheGent
01/30/2007, 03:31 PM
Hello --

I've been wrestling with this mystery for about 2 months now. All the Montipora corals I put into my tank (digitata and danae) loose thier color after a couple of weeks. The purple digitata is now a brown digitata, the pokerstar monti is now white with brown polyps. Neither of them are showing any tissue regeration, but there isn't any growth either. I also have a cap that was tan to begin with, thats still tan, so I can't guage any color change on him. I can't keep a millie for more then 2 weeks without RTN setting in, and it's gone in a day. Other SPS (acros/pocci/birdsnest) are fine and hold thier color.

The tank is a 12gal nano cube with a 150W MH pendant about 5 inches from the surface. Both monties are 1/2 up the tank (moved from the sand slowly over a few weeks), so a total of about 1ft from the light.

I've done quite a bit of research and first thought it was a phosphate issue (it wasn't, it tested very low). I then thought that my calc/alk was out of wack. The alk is at 7dKH and the calc is at 440. Both seem acceptible from what I've read. My pH is a little low (8.0) but it doesn't swing so I thought that it would be better to keep it stable then to have it start swinging around.

Everything else is where you'd expect it to be. No ammonia, no nitrites and very low nitriates (lowest that my test kit will read).

Are there any suggestions from you SPS guys out there? I've purchased additives thinking I figured out what was going on, only to run the tests and finding out I'm wrong. So far, I haven't dosed anything, except myself :beer:

Thanks for looking.. Here's the facts:

1. System age and size: ~9 Gallons of actual water, it'll be up a year next week.

2. System type: No protien skimming, 3 gallon water change each week. Modified the cube to do surface skimming (no scum on top of the water)