PDA

View Full Version : R.O System

SSalty
01/30/2007, 09:58 PM
Hey guys and gals. I know this is my first post, and later I will introduce my-self and what kinda of tank I have, but I am in a big hurry. I am new to the hobby, and I know that an R.O system would be a good investment. Few questions, I just got my R.O System installed and to tell you the truth I don't know much about it. I know what it does but I don't know what I need to do before I can start adding the water to my tank. I need to add top off water but before I can do this, I want to make sure the R.O water is in the right condition.

Should I test the water before I add? What kind of tests? Should I airate the water before I add to the tank? Basically could someone give me the basics that I need to know about R.O water?

Again I am sorry for being so demanding, and I will use the search function when I have time. On top of getting my first tank going, school is consuming all of my time.

Thanks a bunch.:beer:

AZDesertRat
01/30/2007, 10:33 PM
The first thing you need is a TDS meter. Without it you are just guessing as to the water quality. For reef water you might want to add a DI filter after the RO for the best quality. RO by itself is much better than tap water but is still only 90 to 98% fewer contaminants, its the DI that does the final polishing.
The water will not need any special treatment or testing other than with a TDS meter before use as top off water. For water changes you will want to add your salt mix and a heater and aerate the water for at least a few hours before use.
Let me know if you have a TDS meter and I can walk you through all the tesing you need to do as well as what maintenance is required for an RO/DI system.
And most importantly Welcome to Reef Central!

SSalty
01/30/2007, 11:13 PM
Thanks for the quick response. I have no idea what a TDS meter is or where I would purchase one. I also don't know anything about D/I. Is the D/I filter expensive? What does it consist of?