PDA

View Full Version : recharging R134 gas for chiller question

fonzer
01/31/2007, 04:52 AM
i was wondering if you need to turn on your chiller while recharging the gas. this is my first time working with this..any tips would be appreciated. thanks

dohc97
01/31/2007, 08:22 AM
Did the gas in your chiller run out? might want to look for the leak unless you dont mind having to recharge.

Demon
01/31/2007, 09:52 AM
There should be no reason to *just* recharge.. If you have to rechearg then you have a leak somewhere. Also if your going to recharg make sure you have the proper gauges and know what your doing..
But to answer your question Yes it will have to be running to properly recharge the unit..

fonzer
01/31/2007, 02:02 PM
thanks for the responses

i think im the third owner of this chiller, as it was manufactured in 1996 by aquanetics. the fan works, and the compressor heats up. there isnt really any oil spilled around, nor the soap test doesnt show any leak. i got the r134a kit from walmart and comes with the gauge. well see how it turns out...

dohc97
01/31/2007, 02:39 PM
by any chance are you anywhere near chicago? i have the proper gauges as well as a the proper equipment to recharge it properly. If the chiller is working the way its supposed to you shouldnt have to recharge it.

fonzer
01/31/2007, 03:24 PM
dohc97 thanks for the offer, but unfortunately im from hawaii. would the chiller still cool water even though it was made over 10 years ago?

ordy1
01/31/2007, 04:39 PM
The chiller would cool water if it was made in 1960.

As long as it's hermitically sealed it should work. It sounds like you have a leak. Checking with soap bubbles is the way most folks do it. But what to do when you find the leak.