PDA

View Full Version : What container to mix water

Fast Eddie H
02/05/2007, 08:48 PM
Ok, I know this subject has probably been beaten to death, but what plastic container should I be using to mix my salt water? I've heard that I should be using a food safe plastic, but the problem is that this is not stated on any of the labels, so when I get to the store, I have no idea what is safe to buy. Any suggestions please?

schoch79
02/05/2007, 08:55 PM
Most people use 5 gallon buckets or even plastic trashcans like you can buy at any local hardware store.

jjmg
02/05/2007, 08:56 PM
I use a couple of 32 gal Rubbermaid Brute garbage cans from Lowes. Never had a problem. Get the heavy duty ones for a few dollars more, the cheap ones bow out and scare me. Mine are gray and the bar code is 8687614553. I'm not sure if that code changes by store, but I don't think so. I've been using them for a couple of years now.

zoomfish1
02/05/2007, 08:57 PM
Depends on how much you want to mix at a time. Rubbermaid Brute trashcan for large quantities. New 5g bucket for smaller quantities. Just wash them out with vinegar and water and your good to go.

phoenix
02/05/2007, 08:57 PM
I use a rubbermaid trashcan with the wheels - makes it easy to move if I have several gallons of water made up

Fast Eddie H
02/05/2007, 09:38 PM
So is it just a myth that the contaiber has to be "Food Safe"? Will any plastic tote or trash can work?

mjm1969
02/05/2007, 09:51 PM
Rubbermade brute here. They sell a dolly to attach to the bottom so you can move it when it's full. It's what the LFS uses so I figured it was safe.

RTKBA308
02/05/2007, 10:01 PM
I use the Brute too, with the wheels. The wheels cost as much as the can, but very much worth it!!!:D

creep
02/05/2007, 10:20 PM