PDA

View Full Version : Will they fight?

Angela Short
02/14/2007, 12:54 AM
I am condensing a few tanks and have a Fridmani Pseudochromis already established in my 270 and a black cap basslet in another tank I would like to add to the 270. They look almost just alike with the black cap haveing a black cap as pretty much the only difference :) I pretty much know the answer but by chance is there anyone who has thease 2 together in a big tank? I just hate to get rid of the black cap as he is awsome but naturally I love my Fridmani also and would not want to loose either one to a death fight.... Just trying to get everything to one tank! Thanks for your advise!

lynn53
02/14/2007, 08:54 AM
I'm no expert, but I can't imagine not being able to house both those fish in that size of tank. The basslet should be considerably larger then the pseudochromis...maybe when you put him in ...put him in a spot that is farthest away from the chromis. With any luck he'll find a nice little cranny and hole up in it.

Navyblue
02/14/2007, 09:33 AM
I don't have two pseudochromis.

But FWIW, I have a flasher wrasse in my 120G for a week or so, then I added a batch of fishes which include a strawberry pseudochromis. The pseudochromis hid for a few days, and then he found himself a hole. Now whenever the wrasse swims near that hole he would chase the wrasse away.

I had this in mind when I bought them, so I intentionally pick the largest and the most dominant wrasse that flashes and beat the others of his kind in the same tank, and I introduced him first. the wrasse is bigger than the pseudochromis by 1/3 or so. Still, today I saw some torn fin on the wrasse, I bet the pseudochromis did it.

I also have a four stripes damsel that was in the tank for about a month earlier, the damsel sort of don't like the pseudochromis, and they don't seem to be afraid of each other.