PDA

View Full Version : BC 29g nano reef

itsboosting
02/16/2007, 04:23 PM
Hi guys, new to the hobby. Recently decided that i've dumped way too much money into my car and wanted to pick up something else that required less money. SW tanks can get expensive, but i figured it should be quite fun for less money compared to my car.

Anyways, i'm picking up my tank tomorrow after work. I'll also be picking up ~30-35 lbs of LR and LS. Will probably run it thru to allow it to cycle for 2-3 weeks before adding any livestock to it.

I've read some DIY's to widen the flow of the chambers in the back, switching out the stock pump for a rio hf6 pump to flow 350gph.

I do have questions however, such as whether or not i should use the stock filter (i think they are called bio balls?) or have something else in place of that. I will post in this thread with plenty of updates/pictures so please bare with me if i have any noob questions as i am extremely new to this.

What should my water parameters read to be "cycled"? Also, from what i've read, i should keep the water temperature around 80? I live in the bay area, ca. Temps here have been roughly around 50-60s for the past week. Any recommendations/tips would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!

:)
-itsboosting

Captain Amazing
02/16/2007, 05:06 PM
Hey Itsboosting,

Welcome to ReefCentral. I got the 14G Biocube and didn't change the filtration. most people recommend taking out the bioballs in exchange for live rock rubble or filter floss. I have no idea about more flow or exchanging the pump so can't answer that. For your cycle, you need to test for Ammonia, then Nitrites and then Nitrates. Once the Ammonia and Nitrites are zero, you can do a water change to lower the Nitrates. Shoot for about 78 instead of 80, but 80 would be fine if it got up there. Where are you getting your rock?

itsboosting
02/16/2007, 05:20 PM
Captain Amazing,