PDA

View Full Version : what i need to know about mantis shrimp

infalible-one
02/20/2007, 07:20 PM
i am a little new to the invert world, and was wondering exactly what i need to know to take care of a small mantis. i have a 10 g w/ filter and heater. it has adequit (sp?) lighting and i am going to get 5 pounds of live sand, 3 pounds of live rock, 5 pounds of dead rock, and 10 pounds of fine sand.

now i need info on mantis i can keep in this set up and any other specifics about them.. i already have roy's web site in my favorites, but i want some other opinions.

any advice will be taken seriously

gemini aquarius(t)
02/20/2007, 07:55 PM
look for smithii and weanerrie(sp?) for that size of a tank

cmulawka
02/20/2007, 08:02 PM
Welcome To Reef Central
to much to list I use to have a peacock in a little tank i loved it

Pea-brain
02/20/2007, 08:14 PM
Ok, like gemini said, smithii or wennerae. LIghts aren't terribly important, and strong lights can be detrimental. If your new to inverts, I will warn you AVOID ALL HEAVY METALS LIKE COPPER! lol. now I suggest researching at blueboard.com/mantis . That sight is full of great info. An N. wennerae can be easily gotten at tampabaysaltwater.com for 50$ including shipping. You probably won't be able to keep a clean up crew, as they will be eaten.(you might have success with thick shelled snails that wennerae can't break) I good diet of live and frozen foods (such as frozen shrimp, squid, krill, silversides etc.) will keep it fed. good luck!

justinl
02/20/2007, 09:16 PM
Don't keep a peacock in a small tank like 10gal. They need at least 25gal.

light: like pea-brain said light is not a big consideration but I would keep it on the low side (note that you won't be able to have heavily light dependent corals with this setup). Just be sure that the mantis is able to make a nice dark burrow with what you provide... ie. some shells and little LR rubble would be nice.