PDA

View Full Version : Your experience with Tunze "top off" Osmolators

LeeMc
03/03/2007, 01:24 PM
Seems like a trick design with optical vs. float sensors. Please share your experiences...the good, bad and the ugly. Thx..

hatfielj
03/03/2007, 02:19 PM
I just set one up on my new 120gal and I love it. It works like a charm and the water alarm feature is really nice because it tells me if my sump is filling up too high when I turn the return pump off or something like that. Its very nice not having to top off water by lifting 5 gal containers anymore.

marcrothschild
03/03/2007, 02:25 PM
I have had one for 3 years with no problems. I clean the sensor every so often with a tooth brush. Never a failure.

xcreonx
03/03/2007, 03:21 PM
I've been using one for almost 4 years with absolutely no issues. I did replace the pump once, but it was cheap at marine depot. I also clean the sensor every 6 months or so. Worth the money, in my opinion.

LeeMc
03/04/2007, 12:10 AM
Mucho gracias -

antonsemrad
03/04/2007, 12:30 AM
Mine has worked with no issues for three years now. I have an extra pump, but the old one keeps on a ticken.

The thing is kind of expensive, but works well.

If I had to do it over, prob just use a litermeter or some such.
The osmolator cant dose kalk.

MadTownMax
03/04/2007, 12:43 AM
another vote for a peristaltic pump (like the litermeter) I had the osmolator and the fast top-off nuked my tank (kalkwasser) - the switches did not fail, but an overflow on a connected refugium told the osmolator to keep going until it dosed 8 gallons of kalk into a 30-gallon tank - this is not possible with a peristaltic pump, not to mention there is the least pH impact with constant top-off

gcarroll
03/04/2007, 01:52 AM
8 gallons, my osmolator would not dose moe than 3 gallons woithout the safety switch shutting down the system. were you using a bigger pump than the one that came with it?

crab0000
03/04/2007, 06:59 AM