PDA

View Full Version : HELP with Zoos>>>>>>

follow3
03/03/2007, 08:25 PM
Hello All,

I am relatively new to keeping Zoos. I have a 10 gal. quaranteen tank set up to keep frags in that I have ordered online.

I have had about 4 frags die in the last 2 weeks and it looks like I have a couple more that are sick now. They start with a polyp or two that don't open, then they turn white looking. After a day or two, the whiteness starts to spread and the whole frag turns white and a little fuzzy/slimy. That's when I am assuming they are dead. I took one out of the tank after it had turned all white, and it stunk bad.

The tank is 10 gal.
The light is a dual T5 (one 10K one actinic)
The temp is 80
The amonia is 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates .03
Sg .024-.025
PH 8.4

The frags are on egg crate racks. The amount of light or flow doesn't seem to matter.

PLEASE HELP!!! I don't want to lose any more and I have invested some cash in a 40 gal. breeder that I plan to raise even more frags in (if I can get the hang of keeping them alive)

Thanks in advance,
Steve

FZ1Rider
03/03/2007, 09:30 PM
I'm new to this as well but mine has been doing good (even suffering through a tank change over and fluctuating temp, salinity, etc.

What are you feeding them?

Peter

FZ1Rider
03/03/2007, 09:30 PM
I'm new to this as well but mine has been doing good (even suffering through a tank change over and fluctuating temp, salinity, etc.

What are you feeding them?

BTW, where in Virginia?

Peter

follow3
03/03/2007, 09:41 PM
I haven't been feeding them. I read that they didn't need food.

I'm in Hampton....You?

FZ1Rider
03/03/2007, 09:45 PM
That might be your problem. I'm not expert (maybe a real one can chime in) but I'm 90% sure they need to be target fed. I use a turkey baster and target feed them cyclopeeze (do it slowly and account for drifting, it's not to hard)

Alexandria here. Way up nortth.

Peter

harrisagogetter
03/03/2007, 09:45 PM