PDA

View Full Version : String Algae?????

1gideon
03/08/2007, 04:07 PM
I'm new to saltwater and my tank (125) is cycling. I have been through a couple types of algae and now it appears I have string algae. I read it is a dark green but this is stringy and brown. Any help out there?

Thanks
Gideon:confused:

zoomfish1
03/08/2007, 04:34 PM
I have not heard of string algea. Could it be hair algea?

There is a sticky thread at the top of this forum. It has, contained within, an algea identifier section. Look it up there to see what you have and re-post. Plenty of help here.

bertoni
03/08/2007, 04:41 PM
A picture might help. Is this a slimy sort of growth, or does it have more solid structure?

1gideon
03/08/2007, 04:45 PM
It looks like rough string (hair) that floats. also some attached to live rock in "bunches" for lack of a better word. The previuos guy said a sticky thread at top of forum but I'm not sure what that means

THANKS!!

1gideon
03/08/2007, 04:48 PM
Sorry, I should not have said floats, it is attached to live rock but floats from the attached spot.

Sorry

Thanks

zoomfish1
03/08/2007, 04:57 PM
http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1031074

Here is the link to the sticky thread at the top of the forum. I forget that not everyone has navigated thru all the forums.

bertoni
03/08/2007, 05:04 PM
Okay, I'd remove as much as is convenient by hand, and look to nutrient control to starve it out:

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/august2003/chem.htm

That often eliminates the problem.

mp5150
03/08/2007, 08:04 PM
I have recently been battling a form of Diatoms alge, which looks a bit like this:

http://saltcorner.com/sections/guest/algaepage/Brown/diatoms/Diatoms2.htm

I can completely clear the tank and LITERALLY two days later the cand is completely covered. About ready to shut her down.

zoomfish1
03/08/2007, 08:21 PM