PDA

View Full Version : Beginner with stressed fish problem

owraight
03/12/2007, 04:15 AM
One of my blue-green chromis seems to have an ulcer on its side. Its left pectoral fin seems to keep 'sticking' to the ucler, which results in the fish flicking against the rock to free it. This in turn makes the problem worse, with the fin getting restuck within a few minutes.

I'm currently at a total loss as to what I should do about this, so am begging for any advice that I can get from you wonderful people :)

Here is the full version of my perilous quest in the search of aquatic harmony:

I am a total beginner at keeping marine fish but have kept freshwater fish for about two years, four years ago. Over the last month, I have introduced four blue-green chromis and two hawaiian chromis. About a week ago, my tank finished cycling (ammonia, nitrite and nitrate all now down to zero) and so I figured that it's time for the cleanup crew to get rid of all the algae. I have therefore added three blue legged hermits and ten snails (Astrae Coneheads? Possibly). They are making a good effort, but they've a long way to go. Shortly after they went in, one of my blue-green chromis developed an ulcer on it's side. I therefore hit the forum search and went out and purchased a quarantine tank. I put the poorly fish in along with some medicine; the fish was totally scared and immediately hid in the pipes I put in for it. After a day, it came out but was rapidly breathing (is that the right verb?). Another day and the poor thing was dead (yesterday). At the same time, another of the BG Chromis started developing an ulcer and that is where I am at now.