PDA

View Full Version : i got skimmer now what

new2scene
03/21/2007, 02:16 PM
okay i bought a skimmer yesterday and i know i'm going to hear that its crap because it's by Red Sea but it's the only thing i can afford right now. i am not a business executive or in some high paying job like most on here. i am a single mom of 2! I'm not being rude just laying down the facts. now as you can see from what i have i just need the skimmer now and trash the cannister and the hang on filter. i do plan to add a few corals in a few months and i'm in no rush i just want to make sure that im doing this right. I have no aquarium experience ever so i'm glad i came on here and there a patient people.

Jocool
03/21/2007, 02:29 PM
Hello, the skimmer is fine, as well dont be so hasty to remove the canister or hang on. I mean if they are your sole filtration, they will be an asset !! The skimmer adds a 1-2-3 punch now.

Good luck.

taillonjohn
03/21/2007, 02:30 PM
why don't you keep the canister? I think you do have everything you need, except water flow, which can be provided by powerheads or the return from your canister, which I use. its also good for running carbon if you want.

new2scene
03/21/2007, 02:49 PM
okay it seems everyone on here has just the skimmers running on their display. I will get 2 pwrhds soon. keep the carbon out of the filters unless polishing or removing medicine right? keep the other media in the cannister the blue sponge thing and the ceramics. am i right. I just seems like alot of things to be hanging on the aquarium. clean them once a month one at a time. i know i can i know i can i know i can i know i can

kaihonu82
03/21/2007, 02:59 PM
i think you can keep the carbon

taillonjohn
03/21/2007, 03:08 PM