PDA

View Full Version : ok, so here goes, some mud, anyone?

OrangeKoi
03/22/2007, 09:24 AM
Ok, So I'm a noob with noob ideas, ok? But check this out.

I've been running a little 5.5 for a little over a year now. It is bursting with amphipods. You know, there's lots of cool stuff really, that's why I like this salty stuff. I just found a very pretty mini brittle star the other day. At least I think it's a mini!

So, as I've mentioned, it has a lot of life.

The thing is, I put a very thin layer of miracle mud(about a generous 1/4 inch) under my sand, which ranges from 1 inch to 1/5 inch or less under the rocks as well as about 3 or 4 inches mixed with a little layer of crushed shells into my ac 300 mini refugium.

I've been thinking that I really like this salty tank better than the freshwater and I need my shelf space back. One of the tanks needs to go. So, I'm thinking that I'm willing to buy the lights for the 30 gallon cube at this point.

I want to keep the "age" of the little 5.5 and bring it to my 30 gallon cube. But I also need some more LR. That seems pretty certain. I will also need to do the bottom. So I'm thinking a thin (again, about 1/4 inch) layer of miracle mud with the nice sand on top. Maybe add a little live sand too. That with the amount of sand I have already should come out to a proportion very similar to what I'm doing in my 5.5.

I put in some Larger LR to build on, let that cure for awhile (I'm guessing a month, right), then add the rocks and everything from my 5.5 as well as the filtering system. So I'll have a filter system using a polyfilter and the ac 300 mini refugium that I built. I run it with the lights I have till the new lights arrive.

Now, I've gotten some slack for thinking it's good to use the mud in the tank. I just can't figure out why. It's not deep so nitrates shouldn't be a problem. It's just acting as a sort of seed bed. Full of life, you know.