PDA

View Full Version : Qualified opinions on sandsifting stars?

The0wn4g3
03/26/2007, 11:01 PM
I've been debating on whether I should get a sandsifting star or not. As of right now I only have 5 nassarius snails to mix the sandbed (which is ~2in.) They try hard, but they aren't large enough effectively rotate the sand all the time.
I've heard very mixed opinions on sandsifting stars in reef aquariums. They seem to do a great job of moving sand, but some people swear against putting them in a reef tank.
Why is this? Is there a more effective alternative to the star?

Thanks !
PS: A sandsifting goby is not an option for me =(

dc_909
03/26/2007, 11:02 PM
I like my Orange spot goby. Does a great job.

The0wn4g3
03/26/2007, 11:05 PM
I've had diamond gobys in the past and they are great little fish, very hard workers most of the time. But I have a watchman goby paired with a pistol shrimp, so I'm not able to add another goby =(

awestruck
03/27/2007, 05:40 AM
I am not an expert but Dr. Shimek is. He adivses (quite strongly I believe) against sand sifting starfish for 2 reasons: 1) they eat all of the beneficial organisms essential for filtering your tank, and
2) they eventually starve to death unless they are in a REALLY big tank. Diamond and orange spot gobys are great as are astrea and nassarius snails. Oh, and black cucumbers.

Paintbug
03/27/2007, 06:16 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=9579811#post9579811 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by awestruck
I am not an expert but Dr. Shimek is. He adivses (quite strongly I believe) against sand sifting starfish for 2 reasons: 1) they eat all of the beneficial organisms essential for filtering your tank, and
2) they eventually starve to death unless they are in a REALLY big tank. Diamond and orange spot gobys are great as are astrea and nassarius snails. Oh, and black cucumbers.