PDA

View Full Version : Help with rock

Tandi69
03/31/2007, 09:40 AM
I am extremely new to SW, my tank is not even set up. Quick recap, 55gal was inherited and moved with a 3 hr dr over mt roads. Needless to say nothing survived the following morning.

I since learned from this forum that it was due to varios things, sand being shifted, drastic water change, temp fluctuations etc. I tore the entire tank down. The tank came from a home with well water.

I got my RO/DI unit in this week and will be hooking it up this weekend.

My question. I've had the LR in buckets with water from the original tank, needless to say, yes it smells like a dead ocean when you lift the lid. I am hoping this rock is salvagealbe, since there has got to me more than 100 lbs. It has been sitting in the buckets for over a week.

Another question, I know this may seem stupid, but after the water is ran through a RO/DI, do I still need to use a dechlorinator in the water?

Thanks for any help :)

murfman
03/31/2007, 09:59 AM
run your RO/DI and make some salt water. No, you dont need to dechlorinate it.

Once you have some salt water made, drain some of the old water out of the buckets and add new water. make sure you have a power head to move the water around. In a week or so, do the same thing again. You could put the rock in your tank now but, all the smell will be moved into the house.

I am a giraffe
03/31/2007, 10:26 AM
That live rock may not be very live anymore, but it's still absolutely usable. Just take it out of the bucket give it a good dip and rinse in new RO/DI saltwater to clean off the dead stuff, and then put it in your new tank. It'll set off a cycle, and will smell a little bit, but will be fine in a few weeks.

Tandi69
03/31/2007, 01:01 PM
Awesome!!! Thanks for the responses. i'm so glad to hear it's salvageable :)

wasupdavey
03/31/2007, 01:49 PM