PDA

View Full Version : room layout/design

heyfredyourhat
03/31/2007, 04:04 PM
Hi, i am about to move into a new home soon. I have been building and planning my 120 for about 6 months. This will be my first attempt at a reef tank, so i want things done very well. My question is, what are some concerns with the way it is setup in a room...I mean like do you want the tank far away from a wall for access to "stuff", or do you need good humidifiers if its a smaller room...Or maybe ventilation....

I dont want to just throw it up and then get it cycled and find out something like "too much moisture for this room" or "not enough plug-ins on this wall"....then having to tear it down and move it to another location.

Any tips or things that you guys have came across that were a nuissance, or things you would plan out differently???

Thanks in advance, sorry for the long ramble on

fish 511
03/31/2007, 04:32 PM
If i were you, I would plan to put it on a dark room. I think that that helps with the humidity also....HTH

Lotus99
03/31/2007, 04:38 PM
A couple of things I can think of:

- Make sure it will be easy for you to set up and mix salt where you will have the tank. Close to a sink is useful for draining, etc. I guess having the RO unit nearby is a plus, too.
- If you think you're going to have to run a chiller, make sure there's room outside the cabinet, next to the tank, for it. It can't go inside the cabinet.
- Check that the floor is level in the area you want the tank.

chinaman4u
03/31/2007, 04:51 PM
Think you can put up a floor plan and where you'd like the tank then everyone at rc can help you decide on location?

heyfredyourhat
03/31/2007, 06:24 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=9616346#post9616346 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by chinaman4u
Think you can put up a floor plan and where you'd like the tank then everyone at rc can help you decide on location?