PDA

View Full Version : mrc mr-2 users

PatrickG 78
04/01/2007, 07:43 PM
Hello, I just picked up a mr2 skimmer with 2 becketts, 1 newer style and 1 old style and no pump. I'm wondering what pump I should be running with 1 or 2 injectors? I'm trying to get full potential out of the skimmer on my 220gal tank. It will also be in the stand under the tank so noise is an important factor. Any help is appreciated, since I'm a noob I'm not familiar with brands and whats good or bad but I think I'd rather get a decent quality pump than a cheapo that will need to be replaced after a year or doesn't perform. If you have had good or bad experiences your input is greatly appreciated.
Patrick

KH971
04/01/2007, 08:39 PM
Blueline 55, a good high pressure rated pump.

necco
04/01/2007, 08:48 PM
I ran a GEN-X PCX55 when I had mine with one injector. Worked great, but not sure if you need more with 2 injectors.

PatrickG 78
04/02/2007, 07:58 PM
I wanted to utilize both injectors with this setup also can you run two injectors without adding to the riser tube lenght?
thanks

skwirl
04/02/2007, 10:52 PM
yes you can run 2 becketts without the second riser upgrade. i just sold my mr2. i wanted a nw skimmer. i had 1 new and 1 old style beckett as well. i ran a titanium t4 on mine. i only used 1 beckett though. the new becketts dont have as much head pressure as the old. i had it on a genx pcx40 at first, and it was LOUD so i switched pumps. i never regretted the move either. the t4 pumps are completely silent. the becketts make noise, but not those pumps. you would probably want to use one for each beckett though, and they are not cheap. i also hear the blueline pumps are decently quiet, but not even in the same ballpark as the t4. i think the blueline would run both becketts itself though, but you will have one beckett putting out more than the other, because the old becketts head pressure. go with 2 separate pumps if possible.