PDA

View Full Version : DIY Cold Water Reef Tank

Dwarf Seahorses
04/03/2007, 01:07 PM
I have never done a DIY acrylic tank before, but I now I got one daunting project! After seeing Steve Weast's jaw-dropping cold water reef I have my heart set on a cold water reef. Problem with doing a DIY cold water tank is that the acrylic must be 1" thick as anything less won't insulate the temperature properly and sweating (condensation) will build up on the outside of the tank.

Is it any harder to build a DIY acrylic tank with 1" acrylic compared to "regular" sized acrylic? What type of tools do you need to drill a bulkhead? All you need is clamps and silicone right?

jgarrison
04/03/2007, 04:32 PM
If you live close to Canada Quebec city has a large cold water aquarium

Dwarf Seahorses
04/03/2007, 05:05 PM
So does every other public aquarium lol

Acrylics
04/03/2007, 06:03 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=9637570#post9637570 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Dwarf Seahorses
Is it any harder to build a DIY acrylic tank with 1" acrylic compared to "regular" sized acrylic? What type of tools do you need to drill a bulkhead? All you need is clamps and silicone right?
1" is a bit harder and obviously much heavier than say 1/4". The techniques are relatively similar but the tooling must be much stronger than for 1/4". Instead of 1hp router with 1/4" shank router bits, use 2.5+hp router with 1/2" shank router bits. The thinner cutters just flex too much to be effective with 1" material. Router table is a definite must IMO.
Have the plastic shop cut the material for you, a 4 x 8' sheet of 1" weighs about 200lbs, more than most should tackle even with a good table saw.
Definitely have help with it. It's not at all uncommon for tanks using such material to weigh 500lbs and then some. Considering you'll have to flip the tank a few times during fabrication, a pair of helping hands (or 2 pair) is essential.