PDA

View Full Version : Tiny Featherdusters On my cured live rock?

Pholder
04/04/2007, 10:42 PM
Hello guys i'm very new to the hobby and I have been working on getting my tank up and running for a while now. I had a few snags in the begining but thanks to these forums I have learned a ton.

My question is I have seen these little feather duster looking things on my Live rock, the live rock was bought from a LFS and is cured. Are these bad? I have read a post on another forum that said they were hydroids but i Looked hydroids up and what i found looks nothing like whats on my Live rock.

A better description of the creatures I am talking about is here. They have a base that shoots off the rock (its a tan color) and there are about 4 to 5 looking feathers shooting out of the tip and the feathers are a white color. The feathers move with the flow of the water. I haven't seen them close up. When I say small i would say I would measure them using milimeters.

Let me know what you think.

serum153
04/04/2007, 10:49 PM
They are fine and I have one that came with my rock about 6" long. The scopas has really been beating them up lately though.

Pholder
04/04/2007, 10:55 PM
That sounds like a feather duster, these things are about 600 times smaller than that 6" feather duster. I know that featherdusters are common hitchhikers on live rock. I guess im just wondering if these little looking things are just baby feaher dusters? And are going to get bigger.

Rock Anemone
04/04/2007, 10:57 PM
Just a type of feather dust/fan worm. Most stay pretty small, some get bigger. Perfectly beneficial. :D

Rock Anemone
04/04/2007, 10:58 PM
BTW!

Pholder,
[welcome]

EvilE
04/04/2007, 10:59 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=9650632#post9650632 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Pholder