PDA

View Full Version : More light?

Cicio
04/05/2007, 03:43 PM
I just bought a 55 gallon tank and I am completely new to this. I have 40 watts for a light, 45 pounds of live sand, 75 pounds of live rock, a Kenya tree and three fish; a tang, damsel and a pajama cardinal. I think I need more lighting but I am not sure. All the lights that I find cost so much. I think I can make one for cheaper but I am not sure how much light I need please advise.

:bum:

salty3
04/05/2007, 03:53 PM
For softy you should have 3 to 5 watts per gallon. So for a 55 you should be anywere from 165 to 275 and you will need more for sps anemones or clams.

marduc
04/05/2007, 04:25 PM
The kenya tree would benefit from more lighting.. what is your future vision of this tank, adding more coral, or keeping this a fish only tank for the most part? this will affect the lighting choices, as well as what types of corals ect. you eventually want to keep.

As far as lighting, for a reef tank the 2 biggest expenditures for set up are the LR/LS and clean up critters, and the lighting. Watts per gallon is a guideline, not a rule since different types of lighting have more output for the same wattage than other choices.

That being said, for the most flexible lighting option I would look into T-5 lights, especially if you want to keep corals, this way you can avoid a future lighting upgrade when you find VHO's don't cut it for that acrapora you want to keep. I currently run 4 t-5 lights on a 55 gallon aquarium, for a total of 210 watts, I can keep light demanding species higher in the tank, and low light demanding ones in the bottom, even in shaded areas if needs be.