PDA

View Full Version : First Time Skimmer User - Coralife Super Skimmer 65

Azial
04/18/2007, 01:01 AM
Today I got a CSS 65 for a song, $19.00 brand new. I am running an Aquapod 24, and plan on a DIY Sump/Refugium in the future where this will eventually relocate.

I have the model "side saddle" on the right hand side of the tank and honest it doesn't look bad at all. However I am a complete newbie when it comes to Skimmers and I can't make heads or tails of the instructions.

There are two adjustment valves. One on the pump which it instructed to open "50%" during the break in. Additionally there is a red adjustment knob on the return section. Well the problem is by looking at the instructions I can't tell which is on or off. Damn picture shows both the on and off as the same position so it just confused me.

Here's my issue:

When I try to keep the pump valve at 50% open the sucker fills up into the chamber above, so I turn it down just a bit and it seems ok and is producing micro bubbles in the chamber seeming ok. However it's intolerably loud. Mind you I figure this is due to the valve in it's current position and I read the direction it only needs to be in this position during the break in. Fine with me. However if I try to adjust it anywhere but this position it either produces 0 bubbles or overflows.

So I keep it in the loud position and follow the directions and "adjust" the micro bubbles for the break in position. Well this is less then overwelming If I turn it to the right, which I assume is "open" (Who can tell?) it starts to overflow into the cup, if I have it to the left it barely makes micro bubbles and if I try to do the middle position it's not much better.

So I am confused, I feel like I am doing something wrong and I have read and re-read the directions. What should I expect? What should I look for? Am I doing something wrong? Any help would be appreciated.

Azial
04/18/2007, 09:39 AM
Nothing eh?

Village Idiot
04/18/2007, 10:37 AM