PDA

View Full Version : Sump/Refuge ?


fishguy27
05/02/2007, 07:07 PM
How do you determine size? I would like to do a combo sump/refuge.

Randall_James
05/02/2007, 07:10 PM
usually by available room :) I like 20-50% of display size myself

fishguy27
05/02/2007, 07:20 PM
Is there a certain % to say how much is sump and how much is refuge?

fareforce
05/02/2007, 07:21 PM
If I could I would have 100%-200% of my display. Unfortunatly, space is limited. So I usually do about 50% of the display

fishguy27
05/02/2007, 07:25 PM
thanks fareforce

elegance coral
05/02/2007, 07:47 PM
I have a 29 gl tank and a 55 gl sump/refuge. There are no deviding walls. All that is in the refuge is the skimmer, a dsb, and algae. I agree with the others. Set up the bigest refuge you have room for. I put one of those preformed ponds on my wifes tank as a refuge. The larger the refuge the less maintenance you have to do. It also increases the bioload you can put in the tank.

loves saltwater
05/02/2007, 08:47 PM
I have a 75 display and a 29 gal sump/fuge pictures in my gallery