PDA

View Full Version : AC2 and Milwaukee Regulator issue


Camarofish
05/15/2007, 07:37 PM
Hi, I hope someone can help me. I have been battling a problem with this for some time now. If I set my AC2 to turn off at a certain point, I can hear the X10 module shut off, but my Milwaukee regulator keeps bubbling. If I pull the plug off of the regulator, the bubbles stop. I assumed that I had a bad X10 module, so I replace it with a new one, but got the same results. Any help would be much appreciated!

clp
05/16/2007, 11:12 AM
There is a small amount of leakage voltage on an X10 control module even when it is off. To solve the problem either:

- Plug in an additional load with the mini compact bulbs or

- Disable local control. Please see our website http://www.neptunesys.com/hardwareFAQ.htm#LOCALCONTROL , and follow the directions. In addition to further reduce the leakage current, cut the lead on diode (black cylinder w/ white band) in the lower left hand corner of the photo.

Curt

Camarofish
05/16/2007, 12:20 PM
Thanks a million, I'll try this!

Camarofish
05/16/2007, 12:51 PM
Curt, It worked like a charm thanks again...quick question. Can I assume that the DC8 does not have this problem?

Bill

Camarofish
06/06/2007, 11:32 AM
Hey Curt or anyone else for that matter! After cliping the suggested diode(s) my AC II is now freaking out. My lights come on and shut off when they want to, my pumps turn off and on, etc. Please help...this is driving me nuts!

Bill

clp
06/07/2007, 06:08 PM
It sounds like an X10 interference issue. Check/try the following:

- Make sure that the control interface is plugged into the AquaController with a 4 conductor telephone cord. The light should blink off when commands are sent out, but otherwise will be on.
- Make sure that the control modules x10 addresses match the configuration of the AquaController. The default AquaController program is listed in the back of the manual.
- The control interface and control modules should plug into the same circuit. If not, you may need to install a signal bridge.
- Do no use power strips with active surge suppression as they can attenuate the x10 signal. Use inexpensive powerstrips.
- With the AquaController try to turn on and off the control modules. Go to Control & Status -> Manual Control. Select the device you are having trouble with and repeatedly turn it on and off. Note that commands are only sent out when you press the select button.
- If you have added any new equipment to your tank, turn it off, and then repeat the Manual control test.
- Try switching to an unused X10 address on the control module and in the AquaController’s configuration.
- Try swapping the control module with a known good one and see if the problem persists.
- Try power cycling the AquaController. Remove the 9V battery and unplug the AC adapter at the same time.
- If nothing is working try shutting off all appliances around your tank, and then try the manual on/off test. If something is causing X10 interference around your tank, it is likely an electronic ballast. Once the interfering device is found use an X10 noies filter (part # NF5) to isolated from the power in your house.
- To avoid X10 noise problems, use the DC4, DC4HD, DC8 boxes instead. They have hardwired control and are immune to powerline noise.

Curt