PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Building A Sump Filter!!

InADream
05/15/2007, 08:05 PM
Ok guys this is my first attempt at designing my own sump filter... I have read online quite a bit and have put this together... I am not expecting it to be perfect, I am expecting tons of citique...

The Skimmer is based on RandyStacy`s Skimmer (Great Job Randy)...

The tank size and skimmer size have not been determined yet, this will be filtering a 60 to 75 gallon tank (havent decided yet LOL)

All right lets begin critquing this and hopefully get it correct..

Dream

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/153079untitled.JPG

eznet2u
05/15/2007, 10:21 PM
I personally would lose the Bio-balls...they may cause problems down the road. If you have enough liverock they are not needed. In there place, you might add a filter sock.

This is just my opinion...

Sk8r
05/15/2007, 10:27 PM
No bioballs, just a straight fall of water into water. If you occasionally need particulate filtration, just shove a little blue-white filter medium in there and take it out within a day.

Your return pump is usually the largest pump. It'll be something above a mag 9.5, which is a bit too small.

InADream
05/16/2007, 04:14 AM
Ok this is the latest revised version... With No Bio-Balls... How does everything else look... My Return pump is a 450 GPH pump which will have a valve in line to regulate the flow... Hows That Size Pump?

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/153079untitled1.JPG

Dream

eznet2u
05/16/2007, 08:33 AM
The chamber for the return pomp needs to be larger, as this is where you evaporation will show. If you are manually topping off, you will most likely wear yourself out. With a ATO, you will be over working it.

If the GPH is after taking into consideration the head loss to the tank, that is great, as long as you are running powerheads in the tank. I would suggest a couple of Koralia 3's or 4's.

tigeroscar
05/16/2007, 11:57 AM