PDA

View Full Version : RO/DI Confusion


skozzy1
05/19/2007, 11:34 AM
I ready to order an ro/di setup. I read that there is some waste water involved in the filtering process. Is there a ratio of production to wastewater.
Does the waste just go down the sink? Or is it good to use for something else.
In my case I would have to use a kitchen sink adapter.
What do you guys do to mount the filter rack. It would have to be somewhat portable so I could store it elsewhere when not in use.

alan214
05/19/2007, 11:37 AM
The waste to product ratio will vary based on your local water quality and other factors. Lots of people use the waste for plant watering and for supplying water to soaker hoses.

Billybeau1
05/19/2007, 11:45 AM
I know one guy that fills his washing machine with it :lol:

nick18tjetta
05/19/2007, 11:48 AM
I am going to start filling my washing machine with waste water. My washer is in the Garage, and my RO unit is in the Garage, doesn't seem to far fetched to me.

vanmo92
05/19/2007, 12:40 PM
If you read the thread I have going now, you will know that under my circumstances I have there is about 40 gallons of waste for every 1 gallon of good water I get. We use it for our washing machine and I also use it to some degree for watefchanges in my Freshwater tanks.

virginiadiver69
05/19/2007, 01:15 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=9974928#post9974928 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by vanmo92
I have about 40 gallons of waste for every 1 gallon of good water I get. :eek2: :confused:

There is something definitely wrong with your setup. A 2:1 is optimal, 3 or 4:1 is probably normal but... 40:1!!!

Sk8r
05/19/2007, 01:21 PM
i get 4 to 1, and can use it for washing. It's good for any ordinary use but fish. Don't think I'd drink it---just in case there's bacteria in some filter. But anything else is good.

vanmo92
05/19/2007, 01:32 PM
Yes there is something wrong. I think it is that the feedwater is so full of junk and sediment that is smaller than the pre-filters. I was looking at the one melev is selling because he claims he get 5 gallons in 1 1/2 hours. I get one gallon in about 4 hrs. By the way, I have an aquasafe unit now. I am wondering though if the unit will make a difference with all the junk in the water. I was also thinking about getting a 1 micron filter for it. What do you guys think?

virginiadiver69
05/19/2007, 01:59 PM
The sediment filter on mine is a 5 micron.
I have a unit from thefilterguys and am really happy with it. I've heard good things about melev's and BFS. AZdesertrat swears by his(I forget were he got it) though it is a bit pricey.

smatter
05/19/2007, 03:59 PM
I use a carbon filter followed by two mixed bed ion exchange cartridges, no RO membrane, no waste. Water pressure and temperature are no longer an issue. I get about 200 gallons before I need to rotate in a fresh canister, and it costs me less than $5 to fill it with bulk DI resin. I can live with ten cents a gallon.