PDA

View Full Version : has my aquarium cycled already?

spongebob120
05/20/2007, 09:08 AM
Hi there, I am a salt water aquarium newbie. I have a biocube 14, and put in 8lbs of LR on Thursday and 2" of livesand on Friday. Today I tested the water and PH is 7.8. Ammonia, nitrite and nitrate are all 0. Can my aquarium possibly have cycled already?? Is it more likely that it hasn't even started yet. Maybe I dont have enough live rock? Should I add the other 8 lbs of LR now, or wait. thanks.:confused:

Sk8r
05/20/2007, 09:13 AM
It hasn't started yet. I take it you're 14g. You need 5 or so more lbs of light live rock---8 more would be good. I'd add 2 more " of sand. Then drop a few flakes of food---1-3 flakes---in daily, and wait for ammonia soup. After that happens, your tank bacteria, flush with plenty to eat, will multiply, and your readings will drop for real---it won't be a strong bacterial base yet, but it will be able to handle some snails and hermits, building its strength until you can get a fish.

But go ahead and get your fish WHILE your snails and hermits demolish the algae that will be growing in your tank: have it in quarantine, which you can set up with some of your tank water and some new salt water---on this quarantine tank you use a plain old corner filter, changing the floss daily and testing daily for salinity, temperature, and ph, while watching your new fish closely for signs of ich [white spots] or film, tail rot, or the other things you really don't want in your tank. If this happens, ask in the Fish Disease forum and get a treatment: easy as pie in qt, ruin to your tank if done in the main tank. First fish are really, really prone to come down with something, so save yourself grief and do it this way. A cheap plastic box is good enough for a qt tank.