PDA

View Full Version : What critter will take care of this algae? -photo

Brent Thomann
05/25/2007, 12:09 AM
What critter will take care of this algae? -photo

I have the same stuff growing in my display tank but a much larger clump of it, likes a lot of light. I'm no expert but I don't think its hair algae because its more stringy, not really mossy.

Should I add to my refuge?

I've been leaving it in my display tank for my pods to live in but now its getting to big. I'd like to just get some reef safe critters to take care of it? my tangs don't care to eat it either.

http://mjmk.com/temp/algea1s.jpg

larger image HERE (http://mjmk.com/temp/algea1.jpg)

drummereef
05/25/2007, 12:17 AM
Have you looked into a water quality issue? What are you nitrates and phosphates testing? And, what is your water source RO/DI or tap. And do you know the TDS? I would manually remove most of it if you can.

Brent Thomann
05/25/2007, 12:26 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=10011460#post10011460 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by drummereef
Have you looked into a water quality issue? What are you nitrates and phosphates testing? And, what is your water source RO/DI or tap. And do you know the TDS? I would manually remove most of it if you can.

not really sure if its the water quality.

I use a custom 6 stage RO/DI unit with 0 tds coming out.

Nitrates always .05 for over a year
phos always 0

I do bi weekly water changes, have lots of fish and corals.

you think some turbo snails would help keep it in check?

what is it called?

hooterhead
05/25/2007, 12:30 AM
looks like bryopsis (sp?). Pulling it out and lettuce nudi's should take care of it if that's what it is.

Brent Thomann
05/25/2007, 12:43 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=10011497#post10011497 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by hooterhead
looks like bryopsis (sp?). Pulling it out and lettuce nudi's should take care of it if that's what it is.

are lettuce nudi's safe to keep? I thought they're toxic?

pledosophy