PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for stocking

DaveFe
05/26/2007, 07:24 PM
My 75G should be coming in this friday or saturday, but I won't be setting it up for a while because we are remodeling the part of the house I want to put it in. So I have plenty of time to think about what I want to put in it.
I have some in mind but I'd like to hear from you guys some fish/corals/inverts you like. I'm new to SW so I'm looking for things that are easy to care for, also interesting looks/behaviors are a plus.
Thanks

Dave VG
05/27/2007, 05:16 AM
Give some more details on your future tank like how much live rock do you plan on having? What type of substrate, lighting etc? That will help people here to better answer your question. I will suggest tho that you do not put crushed coral on that list as the substrate. Especially if you are planning on doing corals. I does look good but It’s a nitrate factory trust me. I made this rookie mistake. I started a FOWLR and had no intentions of having corals. Now I have to tare the whole tank down and replace it with sand because I want to start with corals and I can’t get my nitrates down below 20 ppm. I do have some softies that are doing good But I would like some SPS and LPS. Not possible with nitrate problem. As far as fish stocking goes, docile fish first, aggressive fish last and make lots of hiding spots in your live rock. Types of fish and corals will depend on your setup.

Dave

Piazzon12
05/27/2007, 06:44 AM
Although they are good cycling fish, I would say stay away from damsels as permanent residents, as they can be too aggressive and hard to catch without tearing apart your rockwork. I have clowns, chromis, a mandarin(although you will have to be well established before getting one), and gobies. I also like firefish but don't personally have any yet.

DaveFe
05/27/2007, 09:34 AM