PDA

View Full Version : RO/DI question


buddy381
05/30/2007, 10:53 AM
Can i run my RO/DI unit without the DI canister......it is a mixed resin canister that is bad and i was just wondering if i could run everything else without that cartridge and still ha8ve good quality RO water......at least until i can get a replacement cartridge.

meco65
05/30/2007, 11:08 AM
I don’t see how it would hurt as a lot of people just use RO water to begin with, but that is just my opinion.

ihopss
05/30/2007, 11:28 AM
I do not have a DI,only RO (O TDS is better).

smcdonn
05/30/2007, 11:33 AM
DI just soaks up the last little bit of TDS left after the RO membrane. It won't HURT anything not having it but it does help water quality. So I would get one as soon as possible. Also check and see if yours if refillable. If it is, you can buy DI resin for pretty cheap.

drummereef
05/30/2007, 12:48 PM
I'd get a replacement if you can. You'll notice quite a difference in TDS without the DI. A properly functioning RO/DI will give you 0 TDS.

buddy381
05/30/2007, 04:07 PM
thanks guys. drummereef....it looks like you are from STL. Is there a place locally that carries that stuff