PDA

View Full Version : Reeftek VS Geo

rolyguy7
06/04/2007, 01:29 PM
I have a 175gal oceanic bowfront which consist of many SPS frags I've picked up here from other members. I've been running my tank with two part ESV B-Ionic. However I've been reading a lot about Calcium Reactors and their benefits. From the information I have gathered I'm down to deciding between a Reeftek and a GEO. Does anyone have any pro's/ con's between these two you'd care to share? Either one just as good as the other? Also, any recommendations on what gauges to purchase, etc. will be great.

Thanks...

rolyguy7
06/05/2007, 07:27 AM
Bump... Anyone?

Doubledown
06/05/2007, 07:49 AM
I cannot compare the 2 as I have never owned the Reeftek. I can give you my experience with the GEO as I have been using one for almost 2 years now.

I am very pleased with the reactor. I bought a larger model 624 for my 180 SPS with plans for a bigger tank (don't we all). It is very well made, easy to set up and comes complete with a bubble counter and pH probe holder built into the lid. I have mine connected to a Pinpoint pH controller and use a Milwaukee regulator/selenoid (if I were to purchase it again I would buy the Reef Fanatic Deluxe unit with the precision needle valve) on the CO2. I "t'd" off my chiller loop to feed water to the reactor, connected the CO2 input line and I was running. I use the large grain Gen-X media with a little bit of crushed Dolomite on the bottom to provide a little more resistance for the CO2 to disolve into the water. The recirculating design eliminates the need for a 2nd media chamber and the eheim pumps that GEO uses are top quality.

Pros: Well made, easy to set up, solid customer service (just PM him here at RC) and a good price with some nice features.

rolyguy7
06/08/2007, 08:27 AM
Thanks for response Doubledown. Very informative.

spongebobby
06/08/2007, 09:03 AM