PDA

View Full Version : Time Commitment?

AdamT
06/25/2007, 11:49 PM
Hi,

I've been considering a reef tank for about 9 months, and let me say, this is a tremendous forum. What a great asset to the hobby. Anyway, I am obviously taking my time here, doing research, and seriously considering whether this is something I want to do. I love my planted freshwater tank, and I enjoy working on it (I'm about to fully automate it with a reef control system that will auto-dose my ferts :D ), but I'm finding that it is not always easy to make the time to keep it up. I always manage to get things done before anything bad happens, but sometimes my maintenance schedule slips. Sometimes I just blow off that weekly water change, forget to dose ferts, etc. I have a busy job and a family, so you get the idea. I estimate that my weekly maintenance is about 2 hours currently.

How many hours should a newbie expect to devote per week on a new reef tank (excluding initial setup and cycling)?

I'm thinking 65 - 125 gallons, LR, fish, and beginner corals, DSB, sump, fuge, skimmer, reef controller, RO/DI.

drummereef
06/25/2007, 11:57 PM
It's dependant on the size of tank, imo. I keep it fairly simple with my 40g. I spend no more than maybe 2 hours per week max. Most of the time is spent one day per week with water changes. Depending on how much maintenance I perform it could be as little as 45 minutes. I think you'll find the more comfortable you get with your tank, the less time it takes to maintain. ;)

kuoka
06/26/2007, 12:03 AM
I agree with drummereef. I spend no more than about an hour to two hours with my 72gal. My water changes take about 15min. The rest is dosing chems, feeding, and keeping the glass clean. Although I recently aquascaped my tank and it took over 4 hours! LOL :D

serum153
06/26/2007, 12:06 AM
HAHA kuoka...I just did the same thing. I went to move two rocks which I thought would be about 5 minutes. About 2 1/2 hours went by and my back and neck were aching.

alexb518