PDA

View Full Version : Memory

fatrip
06/26/2007, 05:35 AM
hey guys i am going out tonight and buying a rebel xt and i was wondering how many pictures a 1 gig card holds at 8 MP???

Dino
06/26/2007, 07:00 AM
:) Depends weather you're planning on shooting in JPEG, JPEG + RAW, or just RAW. I don't have the XT but I do have the XTi, and with a 2 gig card shooting RAW files I can fit close to 200 shots on a card. So probably somewhere around 100 shots per card if you're using RAW, more if you're using JPEG, and less if you're using JPEG + RAW.

Congrats on the new camera! :D

fatrip
06/26/2007, 07:12 AM
thank you dinoman. so i am new to the hi end digital photo world. now you have givin me another question to ask...lol ummm is RAW a better quality pic than jpeg???

Dino
06/26/2007, 08:27 AM
Depends a bit on the camera but on both the XT and XTi (as well as most today probably) the difference between a properly exposed JPEG image and a properly exposed RAW image are pretty negligible until you really get into pixel peeping ;). BOTH JPEG and RAW have their places and uses where one might be better to use over the other. It also comes down some to personal preference! What RAW does do though is put YOU in much higher control of your final image, both because it's taking the image data straight from your camera without the camera getting in the middle and mucking things up doing things it thinks you would like. This isn't the end all solution though - RAW is a considerably bigger file, you need some sort of RAW software (not to worry as the XT comes with a fairly good piece of software) to take advantage of the properties of RAW, and as generally is the case it'll take longer to PP the RAW image vs. a JPEG one. :) The biggest thing RAW offers you is control, it puts you in as much absolute control of your final image as is possible.

fatrip
06/26/2007, 09:19 AM
thank you for your explaning that....photoshop takes advantage of RAW files right??

Dino
06/26/2007, 09:49 AM