PDA

View Full Version : Brand new SCWD not working?


30mini
07/05/2007, 07:37 AM
Okay, so the SCWD that I have hooked up to my fluval 304 is not switching at all. I have it hooked up correctly, and I have the fluval going full blast, but it's not chaning sides at all... it's actually coming out of both outputs, and not one at a time. What could be happening here?

otisbrown
07/05/2007, 09:41 AM
Take it apart and blow through the input side. You should hear the gears spinning. If not, maybe it got jammed or something. Also, the Fluval might not provide enough flow for the SCWD.

30mini
07/05/2007, 09:51 AM
I'll try that at lunch time. You may be right about the not enough flow... but I'll check just to be sure.

Aqua Keepers
07/05/2007, 10:22 AM
Yhese things get jammed with grains of sand all the time

coralnut99
07/05/2007, 10:55 AM
I'm not a fluval expert, but too much flow will keep them from switching too. They have a "threshold" of flow where you're just wasting electricity on them.

30mini
07/05/2007, 12:30 PM
So, I took it apart, blew in it, and the gears aren't turning. Now what should I do?

coralnut99
07/05/2007, 12:52 PM
If it's brand new, I would exchange it or get a refund. Otherwise, it's a sealed unit that you can't do much with unless you want to tinker with it. If it's not switching that means the drum isn't rotating which can mean it's stuck as noted, or the drum or gear mechanism is damaged or defective in some manner.

There's plenty of mods out there for scwds. One of the "handiest" ones cuts the top off and glues on an ABS drain plug that you can screw off when you have issues like this. Basically it makes the thing servicable.

zeusfc
07/05/2007, 03:41 PM
shake it!

mine had a bit of packing debris in it, and has (TOUCH WOOD!) worked perfectly since

30mini
07/05/2007, 03:44 PM
Shake it while it's empty, or shake while it's working? I hooked it back up, and haven't taken it back off yet, but I will tomorrow