PDA

View Full Version : Setting up my plumbing...

impreza
07/07/2007, 12:58 PM
This is a very very simple question, sorry, I am totally new to this plumbing stuff!

So in my setup, I have a 1" return at the back of my tank. I bought a quietone submersible pump to pump water from my sump back into my display tank. The pump has a 1" outlet. Now, I have the PVC and everything, but how do I connect the pump to the PVC? is there a special fitting that I am supposed to use?

Thanks in advance!

nosferatu51
07/07/2007, 01:31 PM
I don't have a quiet one pump, but usually theres a screw on section to attach the piping to. If not, buy a connector that has a screw-on end and a smooth end and attach it to the end of the pump. Someone else may be more helpful though.

nosferatu51
07/07/2007, 01:31 PM
I don't have a quiet one pump, but usually theres a screw on section to attach the piping to. If not, buy a connector that has a screw-on end and a smooth end and attach it to the end of the pump. Someone else may be more helpful though.

am3gross
07/07/2007, 02:02 PM
i dont have one of those pumps either but like said above buy one of these half threaded pieces at you home depot and make sure that you glue the piece to the pump that is smooth. if you dont glue this piece then it may come off when the pump is turned on and you will make a big mess and have your wife looking at you like your crazy, cause that is what happened to me.... i would make sure you put some kind of ball valve in the return line some where so you can control the flow. if you have too much flow you can over fill the tank.... once again making a mess and you know the rest of the story! good luck!

impreza
07/07/2007, 02:08 PM
Are ball valves available at Home depot? Also, if I were to use a MAG pump, it has an 3/4" outlet. How do I convert this outlet to a the 1" bulkhead for my return?

impreza
07/07/2007, 02:47 PM