PDA

View Full Version : Full Moon Action

Reef Nanna
07/07/2007, 01:39 PM
I'm new to reef tanks and forums and this is my first post.. I'm curious about something. The other night during the Full (Wolf) Moon to my surprise three bristle worms presented themselves and were very active. One was pink with white bristles and another tiny pink/white and a large grey/pink bristle. They must be all hitchhikers from LFS. My tank is a cycling newbie but another reefer said he noticed the same action with his worms. Is it possible that the tank is influenced by the full moon.

lubricus
07/07/2007, 02:17 PM
Wow! your first post! way to go Mom:D I'm not to sure about the full moon thing? good question? I have seen them spawn, in the tank maybe it was a full moon that night not sure:)
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c133/lubricus/welcome1.gif

not my pic
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c133/lubricus/70.jpg

lubricus
07/07/2007, 02:31 PM
Did a little search for you, didn't fined to much about the moon thing. you may fined this thread interesting, i haven't read it all yet but it might help you learn a little bit more about your new critters.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1155729&highlight=bristle+worms

Reef Nanna
07/07/2007, 02:40 PM
Proceed at your own risk, I guess. It might make sense that even a reef tank has an ebb and tide and the critters are effected by it.

lReef_lKeeper
07/07/2007, 03:03 PM
i know that things in our tanks ARE affected by barometric pressure, i would assume that the full moon effect on the earth would also affect our tanks.

OneDayMatt
07/07/2007, 03:05 PM