PDA

View Full Version : Yeah i know, another dang skimmer thread

Reefjeeper
07/13/2007, 11:48 AM
Ok here's the deal, i've been running for almost 2 years without a skimmer and i'm finally tired of throwing money at everything to get the nitrates down.(prolly would have saved me a few hundred if i would have just sucked it up and bought one to start) I have a 72 Bowfront so space is limited, the sump is an All-glass Megaflow model 2. so its not huge but not much room under the stand in the first place. I want something that will work great and not kill me too bad in the price dept. I don't know anything about skimmers other than they pull filthy junk out and are sometimes a PITA to get set just right. SO! as you can tell i need some help picking this out. its down to i think maybe three brands unless you guys suggest another: AquaC, Octopus, EU. and which is going to be the better way to go and why. I've heard many others floating around here, so i'm open to input. The only thing i'm really worried about is getting this tank to have some stable numbers and stay that way. not a huge load or anything in there just some fish and a few softies and lps(possiblylater) Thanks in advance for the advice.

kkyyllee
07/13/2007, 11:49 AM
skimmers wont lower ur nitrates, have you tried a refugium?

Reefjeeper
07/13/2007, 11:58 AM
well i've looked into it a few times, and really don't have much room to do that. thought about maybe tossing in some chaeto into the sump and put a light over it. Will that help with keeping the numbers pretty stable across the board, or would that even work if i did it that way?

RobSW1
07/13/2007, 12:04 PM
If your looking for a small hang on tank skimmer, Look at the Deltec MCE500? I think thats it, but not totally sure.

theatrus
07/13/2007, 12:06 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=10333526#post10333526 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Reefjeeper