PDA

View Full Version : How To Set Up A Frag Trough

hotreefbabe
07/16/2007, 07:13 PM
Id like to use one of these for a prop. tank:
http://www.aquaticeco.com/index.cfm/fuseaction/product.detail/iid/3449/cid/1032

Any advice on 1)what to use as a cost effective sump/fuge, 2) What size Skimmer and brands would be best, 3) What size pump and plumbing for the return?

Is anyone using something like this for a prop. tank? If so, how is it plumb, what equipment are you using and how is it working for you? I'd like details and pictures or if there is a thread I have missed some where that could help me I'd like links to that.

I am just starting out and would like lots of help. This prop tank will be set up in my garage with lots of room.

Kristin

TIMMYE
07/19/2007, 12:34 PM
A couple of issues I see is heat durring the summer. Will you runa chiller. What are you going to be growing? That will determine your setup as far as flow inside the tank and skimmer and other equipment will depend on your total volume for water. For your sump you could use a 100 gallon tank or water trough from a farm store. For your first set up, you might want to start with something a little smaller and eaise to manage till you get hang of it. IMHO

erics3000
07/20/2007, 01:31 AM
Heat is major concern. You would most likely need to at least insulate your garage door and put an ac in the garage. You just want to becarefull with your tolls rusting. Is there not a little spot you can put it in your house?

You can get a big rumbermaid for a sump. Find a decent pump for the return and put a few maxi jet with the mods. You can get away with 150 w metal halide at that depth. I got my first skimmer off ebay and still use it on my 150 with some mods.

Sounds like fun..Good luck..

hotreefbabe
07/20/2007, 11:32 AM
For now I only want to have Soft corals such as Mushrooms and Zoas and will be using PC or T5s.