PDA

View Full Version : Snowflake Eel eat other fish?

haywood2
08/03/2007, 11:08 AM
I recently purchased a 8-10" snowflake eel, and I am currently cycling a 75 gallon to move the eel into. I am starting to think I might have made a bad decision buying the eel. I basically want lots of bright fish in my 75 gallon to have lots of movement, schooling effect, etc. I also want relatively hardy specimens because I am new to salt. If I were to have say an ocellaris clown, school of green or blue reef chromis, and maybe a bicolor angel, would he eat them? He really shows no interest in the damsels with him now other than at feeding time, and once the scent of squid is gone he goes back to normal. What do you guys think?

LionfishFinatic
08/03/2007, 12:06 PM
No, Snowflake eels do not eat fish. they are pebble toothed eels which means they are crustacean eaters.

TropTrea
08/03/2007, 12:10 PM
Sorry When I used to get shipments of them I generaly would feed the feeder goldfish. So if there is a tastey fish around and they are hungery they will definatly have a snack.

justinl
08/03/2007, 12:26 PM
like lionfish fanatic said, they are primarily eat crustaceans. they will however pick off a fish if they are hungry enough. usually there is no need to feed FW feeders as these eels usually take to frozen food right away.

in short, go for it.

kraze3
08/03/2007, 12:27 PM
I kept a snowflake succesfully in a 75 with other fish. Like TropTrea said they are opportunistic. If they are hungry and a fish swims by there is a chance the fish will be a snack. If your going to keep the eel, keep him very well fed. I used to feed mine every 3 or 4 days. He will get pretty large so the smaller the fish the more chance it will become lunch for the eel.

GL

haywood2
08/03/2007, 12:49 PM
I am currently feeding him 1 thin piece of squid a day and he seems fine. Is that enough or too much? I really am just afraid that if I keep him he will end up eating a fish that may be $20-50

LukFox